HISTORY OF OFFICERS

Update Nine Glangeaud, 2 September 2020

The Marcé Society MS) was officially launched during the first academic meeting on puerperal mental disorders held in Manchester in July 1980. The first MS president was lan Brockington, Channi Kumar was vice-president, and Frank Margison was secretary/bulletin editor. The first "real" biennial general meeting (BGM}, however, was held in London in 1982, organised by Channi Kumar at the Institute of Psychiatry. Channi Kumar was elected president at the BGM held in Oakland (California) in 1984. The next president was John Cox, elected at the 1986 Nottingham BGM. The BGMS were then held in Keele in 1988 and in York in 1990. Margaret Oates took over the Presidency at the1989 annual meeting in Amsterdam, succeeded by Gene Paykel, who took over at the 1992 Edinburgh BGM and served until 1994. Brice Pitt was elected at the 1994 BGM in Cambridge, followed by Mike O'Hara in London (1996), etc.

PRESIDENTS	STARTING date (BGM location) – ENDING (BGM location)
*lan Brockington	1982 (London) - 1984 (Oakland)
*Channi Kumar	1984 (Oakland) – 1986 (Nottingham)
*John Cox	1986 (Nottingham) - 1989 (Amsterdam)
*Margaret Oates	1989 (Amsterdam) - 1992 (Edinburgh)
*Gene Paykel	1992 (Edinburgh) - 1994 (Cambridge)
*Brice Pitt	1994 (Cambridge) - 1996 (London)
*Michael O'Hara	1996 (London) - 1998 (Iowa)
*Louis Appleby	1998 (Iowa) - 2000 (Manchester)
*Philip Boyce	2000 (Manchester) – 2002 (Sydney)
*Lynne Murray	2002 (Sydney) – 2004 (Oxford)
*Carol Henshaw	2004 (Oxford) – 2006 (Keele)
*Bryanne Barnett	2006 (Keele) – 2008 (Sydney)
*Katherine Wisner	2008 (Sydney) – 2010 (Pittsburgh)
*Nine Glangeaud	2010 (Pittsburgh) – 2012 (Paris)
*Jane Hanley	2012 (Paris) – 2014 (Swansea)
Jeannette Milgrom	2014 (Swansea) – 2016 (Melbourne)
Jane Fisher	2016 (Melbourne) - 2018 (Bengaluru)
Lisa Segre	2018 (Bengaluru) – 2020 (Iowa)
Louise Howard	2020 (Iowa)-2022 (London)
	2022 (Londres)-
	4000 4004
	1982 - 1984
??	400.4, 4000
lan Brockington	1984 - 1986
??	1986 - 1992
Diana Riley	1992 - 1996
Vivette Glover	1996 - 2004
Paula Brownsett	2004 - 2008
Vivette Glover	2008 - 2024
SECRETARIES	
Frank Margison 1982 - 1988	
Beth Alder 1988 - 1991	
Trevor Friedman 1991 - 1996	i

Beth Alder 1988 - 1991 Trevor Friedman 1991 - 1996 Suzanne Steinberg 1996 - 2000 Jane Fisher 2000 - 2008 Jane Hanley 2008 - 2012 Jane Honikman & Anne-Laure Sutter 2012 - 2016 Cindy-Lee Dennis 2016 - 2020 Deborah Sims 2020 - 2024